Alzheimer's disease and Vitamin B12
Vitamin B12 deficiency is associated with an increased risk of brain disorders with aging, including Alzheimer's disease. But as shown by meta-analyses and randomized controlled research on people aged 70 years and older, compensation deficiency of vitamin B12 does not improve cognitive functions.

As it turned out, it's not the level of vitamin B12 in blood that matters but its content in the frontal cortex. Even at its normal level in blood, the concentration of vitamin B12, especially its active form methylcobalamin, decreases in the frontal cortex after 60 years old 10 times and stays in deficit — even down to zero.
Carry on
The thing is, transport (carriers and carrier mediators) activity reduces with age, so B12 cannot reach frontal cortex of the brain through the blood-brain barrier. The reduction of these conveyors begins to occur visibly already at the age of 40 and reaches critically low levels at around 60. Starting at 40 the brain begins to accumulate beta-amyloid and after 65 Alzheimer's disease starts to be diagnosed.
What are these carriers and carrier mediators? These are glutathione and megalin, which is partly involved in the amyloid brain liberation. Thus, increasing glutathione and megalin levels, as well as controlling the levels of vitamin B12 in the blood, it is likely to provide a sufficient level of B12 in the brain of older people and prevent a large percentage of cases of Alzheimer's disease.
Other trials
Clinical trials we plan to conduct at the expense of funds collected via ICO.

Болезнь Альцгеймера и Витамин В12
Дефицит витамина В12 связан с повышенным риском нарушения работы головного мозга при старении, в том числе с болезнью Альцгеймера. Но как показывают мета-анализы, а также рандомизированные контролируемые исследований на людях в возрасте от 70 лет и старше, компенсация дефицита витамина В12 не улучшает когнитивные функции человека.

Как выяснилось, дело даже не в уровне витамина В12 в крови, а в его содержании во фронтальной коре головного мозга. Именно здесь, даже при его нормальном уровне в крови, концентрация витамина В12, особенно его активной формы — метилкобаламина, снижается после 60 лет в 10 раз и остается дефицитным — вплоть до нуля.
Все дело в транспорте
Дело в том, что с возрастом снижается активность транспорта (транспортеров или посредников в транспорте), без которого витамин В12 не может попасть во фронтальную кору головного мозга через гематоэнцефалический барьер. Снижение уровня таких транспортеров заметно начинает наблюдаться уже с 40 лет и достигает критически низкого уровня к 60 годам. С 40 лет в головном мозге начинает накапливаться бета-амилоид, после 65 лет – начинает диагностироваться болезнь Альцгеймера.
Что же это за транспортеры или посредники в транспорте? Это глутатион и мегалин, который в том числе участвует в освобождении мозга от амилоида. Таким образом, повышая глутатион и мегалин, а также контролируя уровень витамина В12 в крови, есть вероятность обеспечить достаточный уровень В12 в головном мозге пожилых людей и предупредить большой процент случаев болезни Альцгеймера.
Два других исследования
Клинические исследования, которые мы планируем провести за счет средств, собранных на ICO